Building the Right Cross-Systems Team to Support your Diversion: The Responder Model

Event Dates: 
Tuesday, February 9, 2016 - 03:00 to 05:00

Please join the National Center for Mental Health and Juvenile Justice (NCMHJJ) and the National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges (NCJFCJ) on Tuesday, February 9, at 3:00 p.m., Eastern Standard Time (EST), for the second in a four-part webinar series on school-based juvenile justice diversion models for youth with behavioral health needs. The series provides guidance on the essential components of effective school-based diversion programs that identify and address behavioral health needs through provision of community-based services instead of referral to the juvenile justice system. 

The second webinar in this series will identify strategies that have worked to engage all the key stakeholders necessary to support an effective school-based diversion initiative.  Participants will learn about messages and efforts that have been successful in bringing law enforcement, schools, families, and service providers together to meet the behavioral health needs of youth without referral to the juvenile justice system.

This webinar is an appropriate learning opportunity for professionals in a variety of settings, including schools, community behavioral health services, law enforcement, child welfare, and juvenile justice. 

Date: Tuesday February 9, 2016

Time: 3:00 p.m. (EST) 

Experts will:

  • Provide concrete suggestions on how to effectively engage the four key stakeholder groups critical to the success of a school-based diversion program,
  • Share knowledge about the unique needs of each stakeholder group, and
  • Provide information about how each group is best engaged.

Faculty will include:

  • Kevin Bethel (Stoneleigh Fellow and former Deputy Commissioner of the Philadelphia Police Department)
  • David Gollsneider (Supervisor of Special Education, Meriden Public Schools)
  • Susan Graham (Family Engagement Specialist); and

JoAnne Malloy (Clinical Assistant Professor, Institute on Disability, University of New Hampshire).